Oct 10 2020


10:00 am - 2:00 pm

Chalk it Up

Artpace San Antonio is pleased to announce Councilman Roberto Treviño as the Honorary Chair for the 17th annual Chalk it Up festival to be held on Saturday, October 10, 2020 at San Antonio Public Library branches across the city. Event Co-Chairs Katie Pace Halleran and Cristina Peña Walls are excited to work alongside the Artpace staff to create a bold 2020 model for this beloved event.
“By supporting local artists and school teams throughout the entire city, Artpace is focused on continuing to forge the connection of community as a whole through the power of creativity and innovation,” shares Katie Pace Halleran. She adds, “My hat goes off to the entire Artpace family for the way they’ve adapted such an enormous event in these unprecedented times.”
“The City of San Antonio, students, and artists alike look forward to this ‘event of expression’ every year and we had to find a way to give the City its Artpace Chalk It Up. Through this new platform, together with our student artists and featured artists, we are now able to share Chalk It Up not only with San Antonio, but now with the World and we couldn’t be more thrilled,” says Cristina Peña Walls.
On October 10 twenty-one Featured Artists will create original designs in chalk capturing our 2020 theme: community. Chosen by Artpace’s Director of Residencies and Exhibitions, Erin K. Murphy, each artist will create a 15’ x 20’ chalk mural at one of ten different San Antonio Public Library Branches, representing each City Council District.
Chalk it Up 2020 Featured Artists
Central Library (District 1): Fernando Andrade, Cassidy Fritts
Carver Library (District 2): Bárbara Miñarro, Anthony Dean-Harris
Mission Library (District 3): Isabel Ann Castro, Mark Anthony Martinez
Cortez Library (District 4): Juan Miguel Ramos, Justin Korver
Las Palmas Library (District 5): Joe De La Cruz, Jeremiah Teutsch
Henry Guerra (District 6): Xavier Gilmore, Katarina Guzman
Maverick Library (District 7): Ruth Buentello, Nathan Segovia, Yoko Misu
Igo Library (District 8): Richard Armendariz, Alán Serna
Parman Library (District 9): Madison Cowles Serna, Jasmeet Kaur
Tobin Library (District 10): Kaldric Deshon Dow, Cherise “Rhys” Joy Munro
The public is encouraged to visit the library of their choice from 10am–2pm on Chalk It Up day to celebrate these artists and their visions of community—or spend the day visiting all of them! Drive-thru viewing will be available at all libraries. The Chalk It Up Dashboard has an interactive map showing each participating library, the artist at each library branch, and the schools participating in the TeamWorks competition. Although the TeamWorks murals will not be on view for October 10, submitted murals will be uploaded to the interactive map for public viewing.
Artpace encourages all San Antonians to express themselves creatively leading up to and on the day of Chalk It Up from the safety of their own home and neighborhoods through #ChalkItUpAtHome.
Chalk It Up 2020 is possible due to generous support from the San Antonio Library Foundation (Featured Artist sponsor), H-E-B (Community sponsor), Argo Group (TeamWorks sponsor), Jefferson Bank (TeamWorks sponsor), Herweck’s (In-Kind sponsor), and Target (In-Kind sponsor).

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.